Log in

Log in



We are pleased to share the Vermont Comprehensive School Counselor Framework. We would like to take this opportunity to share with you how we got here and why this work is important for Vermont School Counselors.

In the beginning of the 2020-21 school year a small group of school counselors began to have a conversation about how different school counseling looks across the state of Vermont. This conversation grew into an opportunity to focus on school counselor equity by developing a framework for a comprehensive school counseling model and outlining appropriate roles and responsibilities of school counselors. With the support of the Vermont School Counselor Association a formal ad hoc committee was developed with eleven members representative of grades K-12 from across the state. The ad hoc committee reviewed frameworks from many states and drafted the current version of the Vermont Comprehensive School Counselor Framework. School Counselors across the state also provided feedback through face-to-face and virtual meetings, the annual VTSCA conference and written correspondence.

This framework is a tool in which counselors pull from when needed. The committee understands that transitioning from an existing Service to a fully developed ASCA model Service is an incremental process that takes place over time and recognizes that some Vermont school counselors are the sole counselor in their building.

Thank you to the Vermont Agency of Education, the Vermont Principals Association and the public who provided early feedback on this framework.  

Additionally, we appreciate the support of the many school counselors who provided feedback on our drafts and help to further edit the framework.


VT Comprehensive Model Ad Hoc Committee

Joe Smith (Westminster Central School)

Meg Hughart (Burlington High School)

Rachel Petraska (Shelburne Community School)

Patti Tomashot (Stowe High School)

Elaine Archambault (BFA St. Albans)

Jena Zuckerman (Mary Hogan School)

Matt Smith (Missisquoi Valley Union Middle High School)

Lisa LaPlante (U-32)

Meaghan Parker (Green Mountain Technology & Career Center)

Phyllis Curraro (Proctor Jr/Sr High School)

Lauren Conti (Stowe High School)

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software